Florida Manufacturers Brace for Statewide Industry Tours & Events for Manufacturing Month

October 7 marked the official kick off for Manufacturing Day/Month. Here in Florida,
manufacturers across the state are hosting a number of events targeted to put a spotlight on Florida’s diverse manufacturing sectors. Counties and cities across Florida issued proclamations marking October as MFG Month. Hundreds of students and educators from schools across Florida are set to participate in industry tours geared to showcase products that are “Made in Florida” as well as get an up-close look at opportunities for high-skilled, high-wage careers offered through Florida’s approximately 19,000 manufacturing companies.

Outlined below are a snapshot of some regional tours and events. A full listing of events, including survey data from MFG Day/Month tours will be highlighted in the November and December editions of the FLATE Focus. So stay tuned!


County
Industry Tours
Contact Information

Hillsborough County
Southern Manufacturing Technologies, Pro-Tools, EMS, SignStar, Chromalloy, Measurement Supply, Tampa Bay Steel, Lockheed Martin


Bay Area Manufacturers Association
Rick Concotelli, rick.concotelli@lmco.com  
Becky Burton, becky@bama.org

Upper Tampa Bay Manufacturers Association (UTBMA)

School District of Hillsborough County
Lauren Walden,  

FLATE
Marilyn Barger, barger@fl-ate.org
Janice Mukhia, mukhia@fl-ate.org
Jesse Kokotek, kokotek@fl-ate.org

Central Florida (Orange, Brevard, Seminole, Lake, Osceola counties)

Rowe Manufacturing, Mercury Marine, Regal Marine, Nautique Boat Company, .decimal, Custom Metal Designs, Ashalnd Technologies, Inc., Victory Tailgate, Knights Armament, Vac-Tron, Metal Essence, Inc., Central Florida Box, Mitsubishi Hitachi


Manufacturers Association of Central Florida
Sherry Reeves, sherry.reeves@macf.biz Amanda Markusky, amanda.marcusky@macf.biz

Orange County Public Schools
Kenneth Bush, kenneth.bush@ocps.net

Brevard County Schools
Dennis Solobesky. Soboleski.Dennis@Brevardschools.org

Lake County Schools
Adam Sumner, asumner@lakecountyfl.gov

Osceola County Schools
Timothy Burdette, burdett@osceola.k12.fl.us

Mid-Florida (Marion, Levy, Citrus, Sumter counties) 

Golden Flake, Winco, Cardinal Glass, Townley, Hale, E-One, SPX, Admiral Furniture, Closet Maid, ABCO Transport, Krausz, A & N (Levy), VacTron, Kmart Distributions, College of Central Florida, City of Ocala Utilities

Marion Schools
Sara Lefils, sara.lefils@marion.k12.fl.us

Mid-FL Regional Manufacturers Association
Rob Adamaik, mrma.email@gmail.com



Northwest Florida  (Escambia, City of Pensacola, Holmes, Washington, Jackson, Calhoun, Liberty County Santa Rosa, Walton, Okaloosa, and Bay Counties)

American Elite Molding (Bay State Cable Ties), Ascend, GE, Gulf Power, Eastman, Ft Walton Machining, MERRICK, Rex Lumber (Bristol), CEREX, Maritech, West Point, Certified Manufacturing, Gelato, DRS, Strand Core
Career Fairs:
Escambia-Santa Rosa, Bay County, Okaloosa-Walton, Chipola)

Northwest Florida Manufacturers Council
Cindy Anderson, cindy@nwfmc.org






           
Pasco & Hernando Counties

Pasco
AdamsArms, Amskills (Marchman), Bay-Tech Industries, Pharmaworks, SeaWay Plastics, Oldcastle Coastal, Clark Dietrich, Nestle Waters, Manitowac Food

Hernando
Alumi-Guard, West Coast Classic, Cemex, Accuform, Flagstone Pavers, Amskills, Qorvo, ICTC, Intrepid, Sparton, Artix, Florida National Guard


Florida TRADE at Pasco Hernando State College
Margie Burnham, burnham@phsc.edu
Jessica Ball, ballj@phsc.edu

AMSkills
Jady Vargas, jvargas@amskills.org

Pinellas County
Lockheed Martin, MasterCut, Bausch & Lomb, American Tool & Mold, Conmed, Sign-Age, H&S Swansons, Honeywell, Molex, Hydrodyne

Bay Area Manufacturers Association
Becky Burton becky@bama.org

Upper Tampa Bay Manufacturers Association

Pinellas Schools
Greg Taylor, taylorgr@pcsb.org
Marti Giancola, Giancolam@pcsb.org
Bob Hawkins, hawkinsr@pcsb.org

FLATE
Marilyn Barger, barger@fl-ate.org
Janice Mukhia, mukhia@fl-ate.org
Jesse Kokotek, kokotek@fl-ate.org

Polk County

JC Machine, PCA-Packaging Corp.of  America, Kegel, Inc, Rockford-Ettco Procunier, Coca-Cola, Givaudan Flavors Corp, Pepperidge Farm, MaxPak, ITW Professional

Career Pathways at Polk State College
Christopher Yannes, cyannes@polk.edu
Howard Drake, hdrake@polk.edu

Sarasota-Manatee Counties
SunHydraulics, KHS USA INC, Cavanaugh Company -  Black Diamond Strings, PGT Industries, ASO LLC, Manatee Technical College

SAMA
Peter Straw

Sarasota County Schools Career & Technical Education
Martha Proulx

Manatee County Schools
Carol Lewis, lewisc@manateeschools.net 

Manatee County Schools
Danielly Orozco, orozco@fl-ate.org

South Florida
Hoerbiger Corporation, Atlantic Technical College: ACR Electronics

Hoerbiger
David Gonzalez, david.gonzalez@hoerbiger.com 

Atlantic Technical Center

SouthWest Florida
S4J Manufacturing, I Love Oils, Trilogy Laboratories, The Smart Companies, Mermaid Manufacturing

Peter Bagwell, peter.bagwell@gmail.com

SRMA
Max Dean. max@srma.net

Goodwill Industries

Lee Schools,
Chelsea Gamache, ChelseaG@LeeSchools.net


For a listing of 2016 Florida’s Manufacturing Day news and events, visit the Florida Manufacturing Day page at http://madeinflorida.org/manufacturing-day, or contact your local Regional Manufacturers Association. In addition, many of Florida’s events are also listed on the national MFG Day website here; you can also visit the Manufacturing Day in Florida website at www.mfgday-fl.com. Manufacturers and others will be sharing news about manufacturing month using the hashtags #MFGDay16 and #FLMfgMonth16. For information on other national manufacturing day events and tours visit www.mfgday.com, or contact Dr. Marilyn Barger at barger@fl-ate.org.