Congratulatory Notes

U.S. Commerce Secretary Appoints Roy Sweatman to Manfucturing Council
Roy Sweatman, President of Southern Manufacturing Technologies (SMT) in Tampa, FL, was appointed today to serve on the Manufacturing Council. Sweatman, a member and former Chairman of the National Tooling and Machining Association (NTMA), joins 24 other U.S. manufacturing leaders as Council members. The Council provides advice to U.S. Commerce Secretary John Bryson on issues related to manufacturing sector competitiveness, as well as government policies and programs that affect the industry. Sweatman will help emphasize the necessity of designing policies that help small and medium U.S. manufacturing companies, which play a critical role in the industry. Sweatman's contributions to the Tampa Bay manufacturing community has been highlighted in several editions of the FLATE Focus. You can read more about him in the April 2012 & September 2011 editions of the FLATE Focus. You can also visit From all of us at FLATE, congratulations Roy!

Congratulations to Middleton Music Student Who Recently Won a $10,000 Scholarship
Congratulations to senior Abraham Tejeda for winning a $10,000 scholarship! Abraham Tejeda, 18, distinguished himself among 44 students who competed for a scholarship given by Hillsborough County School Board Chairwoman, Candy Olson. Tejeda plans to major in music education at Miles College in Fairfield, Alabama, and eventually hopes to get a doctorate at Berkley College of Music in Boston. More about this story at:

Manatee County Teachers Awarded National ITEEA "High School Program of Excellence" Award
Gil Burlew, head of the engineering academy at Braden River High School in Bradenton, FL recently received the 2012 International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA) High School Program of Excellence." The Executive Board of the Florida Technology Education and Engineering Educators Association notified three Braden River High School (BRHS) teachers in Manatee County that the BRHS engineering technology program has been awarded the "2012 International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA) High School Program of Excellence." This award is the highest honor a technology education teacher can receive in the profession. Engineering technology teachers Gil Burlew, Richard Platt, and John Frank were awarded the recognition. Burlew, who was also received FLATE’s Manufacturing Secondary Educator of-the-year award in 2008. For more information visit, and

No comments :

Post a Comment